Is Walmart writing the refills your doctor is prescribing or do they assume we are all drug addicts?

This morning I called to check the status of a prescription I called into the Wal-Mart  pharmacy on Sunday since it stated no refills-must contact physician. Today being Thursday I wondered why no phone call yet stating my prescription was ready. The line (not a live person told me I had to contact a live person). I did and was informed my doctor had yet to respond to the fax. So I called the hospital , left a message to fax a new prescription because I only had one pill left. The e-mail typed by the hospital person on the phone was read back to me and then sent to my physician. I went to do my errands and called back Wal-Mart pharmacy when I arrived home around 4p.m. where I was told the same thing as in the morning with the addition that they had sent another request. I called the hospital again to find out what was going on. The woman I spoke to this time said in November the doctor prescribed 4 refills. Every time I tried to explain that this bottle said NO REFILLS-REQUIRES DOCTOR APPROVAL, she’d tell me I had an old bottle. I think I finally convinced her that each and every bottle has always had the same message. I should’ve came to the conclusion sooner that transferring the prescription back to the hospital (although maybe not cheaper) would certainly be less hassle.

 

4 thoughts on “Is Walmart writing the refills your doctor is prescribing or do they assume we are all drug addicts?

Leave a Reply

